CCIN Members’ Update November 2021

Councillor Sharon Taylor OBE

Councillor Sharon Taylor OBE Chair of the CCIN & Leader of Stevenage Borough Council

Welcome to the November edition of Update

In any other year we’d have held our Annual Conference by now; reluctantly we’ve decided to postpone it to the new year.  At the January Conference we will share with you the findings of the Co-operative Difference in Care report and launch some of our Policy Lab reports on Co-operative approaches to reaching net zero, sustainable food, understanding the digital divide, and co-operative neighbourhoods. We will also launch our new Constitution.  Bookings for this event open later this month.

In this edition we welcome Liverpool City Council as our latest Member Council, and blogs from Councillor Louise Gittins, Leader of Chester West and Cheshire Council on the eve of COP26 and Chris Pope of GMCA on their Digital Exclusion Risk Index.  We also feature a new campaign from The Co-operative College highlighting the key role education can play in the fight against climate change.  There is also the latest Policy Blog from Co-operatives UK which analyses the UK government’s Spending Review and Budget announcements, from a UK-wide co-op perspective.

Finally, we are delighted to share the names of the member councillors shortlisted in the LGIU & CCLA Cllr Awards, we’d particularly like to wish Cllr Shaun Davies, Leader of Telford & Wrekin Council and Cllr Susan Aitken, Leader of Glasgow City Council, who are both up for Leader of the Year in their respective National categories.

I hope that you enjoy this edition of Update.

Take care


Read more…