CCIN Members’ Update December 2021

Councillor Sharon Taylor OBE

Councillor Sharon Taylor OBE Chair of the CCIN & Leader of Stevenage Borough Council

Dear Member

Welcome to the December edition of Update

This month we share the findings of two of our Policy Prototype projects.  These have been led by Torbay and Preston councils and we are delighted to share the learning from them.  These, along with our other funded health and social care projects, will feed into our ‘Co-operative Difference in Care’ report, which we plan to launch at our Annual Conference.  The conference will be held over two half-days on Tuesday, 15th and Wednesday 16th February.  To ensure everyone’s safety we’ll be meeting online again this year.

In this edition we update members on the progress we have made to develop a certified training programme for all Members, this work is being led by the Co-operative College, and there is a reminder on how to access our existing training.  We also invite Full and Affiliate member representatives to self-nominate to join our Values and Principles Board.
Congratulations to CCIN Council winners at this years LGIU/CCLA Awards. Cllr Susan Aitken, Leader of Glasgow City Council and Cllr Jacqueline McLaren, also Glasgow City Council won Awards at the LGIU Scotland/ CCLA Awards last month.  And Cllr Paulette Hamilton, Birmingham City Council and Cllr Paul Bell, Lewisham Council won Awards last night.
Finally, we’d like to welcome Cllr Doina Cornell, Leader of Stroud District Council.  The council is ruled by an Alliance of Labour, Green and Liberal Democrat councillors who run their council co-operatively.  We also welcome Great Dawley Town Council this month who join as Associate Members. 
I hope that you enjoy this Member Update.
Best wishes for a restful Christmas and a peaceful 2022. 
Stay safe.


Read more…