CCIN Members’ Update November 2019

Cllr Sharon Taylor OBE- Chair of the CCIN & Leader of Stevenage Borough Council

Councillor Sharon Taylor OBE, Chair of the CCIN & Leader of Stevenage Borough Council

Dear Member

Last month’s Update was a Special Edition following our successful Annual Conference in Rochdale – so there’s much to report on this month!  Our exhibition stands at the Labour, Lib Dem and Co-operative Party Conferences were very well supported and last week we attended the National Association of Local Councils (NALC) conference in Milton Keynes.  We’ve met lots of prospective Members which will be followed up in the coming weeks.

Thank you to our Panel Members who joined me at our Fringe at the Co-op Party Conference in Glasgow: Jim McMahon, Cllr Frank McAveety (Glasgow), Cllr Adam Farrell (North Warks) and Cllr Martin Judd (Oldham) and to our Workshop Speakers who joined me at the NALC Conference in Milton Keynes: Cllr Sue Woodward (Burntwood), Cllr Donna Fuller and Steve McNay (Woughton).

Congratulations to Woughton Community Council who won the Council of the Year STARS Award at last month’s NALC Conference and to Plymouth City Council who won the Cities of Service Engaged Cities Award at a ceremony in Washington.

Finally, we welcome SEVEN new Members – Tameside and Kirklees join as full Members, Seaton Community Council, Winsford Town Council and Renfrewshire Labour Group join as Associate Members, and Trueman Change and Marks out of Tenancy join as Affiliate Members.  This brings our membership numbers to 28 Full Councils, 15 Associate Members and 20 Affiliate Members.

I hope you enjoy this edition of Update.

Best wishes


Read more